Search this site

PIE News honours Study Group Senior Advisor for Outstanding Contribution to International Education

12 June 2020

Study Group Senior Advisor named as a finalist in the 2020 PIEoneer Awards.

Study Group is delighted to announce that its Senior Advisor, Ruth Arnold, has been named as a finalist in the category of Outstanding Contribution to the Industry in the 2020 PIEoneer Awards. The annual awards recognise innovation and achievement in international education across the world.

Ruth was shortlisted for her role in developing the award-winning #WeAreInternational campaign which began in 2012 as a joint initiative between students and staff in Sheffield where she was then Head of Corporate Communications, and was quickly adopted by students, universities, sector bodies and business across the UK. The campaign was named Marketing Campaign of the Year by PIE News in 2017 and is now led by the UK Council for International Student Affairs.

The #WeAreInternational campaign also led to Ruth’s first contact with Study Group, working alongside James Pitman in lobbying the UK government to reintroduce the post-study work visa and giving evidence to the All-Party Parliamentary Group on International Students. Study Group was also an early supporter of the campaign and instrumental in the founding of its US sister campaign, #YouAreWelcomeHere.

Responding to the nomination, Ruth said: “I am extremely grateful to the PIEoneer Awards and for the support PIE News showed for our work on the #WeAreInternational campaign from the very beginning. What could be more important than to help bring people together to speak up for the value of international education, and for the friendships and understanding that go with it? I could not be prouder than to be associated with that effort and with the students and colleagues who made #WeAreInternational their own.”

Rachel Donelan of the PIE News said, “We received hundreds of entries this year, more than in 2019, which we hadn’t necessarily expected given the circumstances. The nominations this year have been exceptional in showcasing so much excellent work that is being carried out across the international education industry. It was very competitive so well done!”

Other finalists for the Outstanding Contribution category include:

  • Jazreel Goh, UK/China - director of Education Marketing at British Council China
  • Professor Diana Laurillard, UK - Professor of Learning with Digital Technologies, University College London
  • Enver Yücel, Turkey - author and Chair of the Board of Trustees of Bahçeşehir University
  • Jayanthan Kulasingham, Sri Lanka - Chair of the Spectrum Institute of Science & Technology
  • Timothy Blake, UK - Chairman of The London School of English
  • Troy Peden, US - founder of

Winners will be announced at the 2020 awards ceremony which will be held virtually in September 2020.

Back to all articles