Search this site

Study Group is proud to work with winners of the 'Oscars of higher education'

07 December 2017

Study Group is proud to work with winners of the 'Oscars of higher education'

Study Group applauds standout achievements for four of the universities it works with, in the latest Times Higher Education Awards.

Every year, hundreds of universities enter the Times Higher Education (THE) Awards. This year, more than 1,000 people attended the awards evening to celebrate the educational excellence and breadth of choice a UK university education offers. The event was held on 30 November at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane.

No fee is payable to enter, and all UK higher education institutions are eligible. With no bars to entry for any UK university, Study Group is extremely proud of the institutions it works with, which achieved success at this year’s Awards.

Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU)

We are delighted to announce that the THE Outstanding University Entrepreneurship Award went to LJMU. The University is renowned for its commitment to the career success of its students.

Its Entrepreneurship Educators Academe set it apart from the rest of the shortlisted entrants. This scheme helps staff develop curricula with clear connections to entrepreneurship. And the University’s Bathgate Startup Fund was noted for helping 23 new ventures in its first year of operation. They are estimated to have turned over £350,000.

Emma Robinson, Head of Student Entrepreneurship at LJMU said, “As a pioneering modern civic university, meeting employer’s needs is critical in ensuring our students have the best experience and opportunities in employment and can also help drive innovation and economic growth.”

University of Leicester

Another of the universities Study Group works with achieved success in the DataPoints Merit Award category. This award looks at which UK universities produce the highest-quality research in comparison to their income. The shortlisted entrants were diverse in location and size, but all had one thing in common: ‘a reputation for cutting-edge research in a variety of fields’.

THE Data Editor, Simon Baker commented, “The University of Leicester has shown time and again that it produces world-beating research and groundbreaking discoveries. Our data now show that it also punches well above its weight in terms of bang for the buck, too.”

Keele University

Study Group extends its congratulations to Keele University teacher, Russell Crawford, who took home the award for Most Innovative Teacher of the Year.

In the words of the judging panel, “Russell Crawford stood out for his innovation across a range of teaching styles, his strategies for self-directed learning and his work on the gamification of learning, which provided tangible evidence of knowledge gain.”

University of Strathclyde

And the Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award goes to John Curtice of the University of Strathclyde. You may know Professor Curtice better as the man behind the exit polls on election night in the UK. His political expertise is so strong that he always gets it right. Professor Curtice has been a contributor to the BBC’s election night broadcasts since 1979.

Back to all articles